LinkedIn leads businesses to successful marketing.

Image (c) from Getty Images

I have a profile on LinkedIn and am subscribed to several people or organizations that I am interested in.  One of those people is Glen Gilmore (#SocBiz) who is a social media guru that I recently discovered.

A few days ago, he included an infographic from an article published on May 6th, 2015, by Justin Bariso of Inc.com.  In the article, You’re in Desperate Need of a LinkedIn Strategy. Here’s How to Get Started (Infographic) | Inc.com, Justin points out that businesses need to have a LinkedIn strategy, but he also references an article by Katie Morse of the Rescue Team at Internetmarketinginc.com, that tells you how to begin creating that strategy.  I thought both articles were so good, I decided to do my first blog post for PURL221, Foundations of Social Media, about them.

I am pretty new to social media, although I have had a Facebook profile for over five years and a LinkedIn profile for at least three years.  I never really used either site for business purposes, mostly because I just didn’t really understand how either could help my business life.  That’s one of the reasons I took this class.  This article explains it in layman’s terms that anybody could understand without being a marketing or PR expert.  Check out the infographic below, which is included in Justin’s article linked above and in the original article by Katie Morse linked below.

LINKEDIN_d06_1-011

When I started reading our class textbook, I noted on page 22 the definitions of “Social” and “Media” as the book applies the terms.  Dr. Luttrell points out that “Social is the need that we, as human beings, have to connect with others through companionship via relationships with others in society…” and also notes that:  “The word media relates to the channels through which we make connections with others.”

The thought of my “customers” wanting to socialize with me for any reason never occurred to me.  However, once I started reading our text, Social Media: How to Engage, Share, and Connect, I realized that I have really been mistaken in my interpretation of what social media is good for, and this article just reinforced that point.

Since December, I have been assisting a small business owner with his office work.  It is a landscaping and snow-plowing business, and they are using all the old tricks for marketing, including paying hundreds of dollars for a two-page ad in the coupon booklet that is delivered to homes monthly as well as designing, printing, and paying someone to deliver door-hanging brochures in different neighborhoods.

Unfortunately for him, the coupon booklet generated only a handful of phone calls from prospective customers.  The door-hangers have been more successful, but included with that success has been a few challenges.  There were some phone calls from irate homeowners who thought the “No Soliciting” signs on their doors should have kept them from receiving these.  There was also the phone call from a lovely lady who praised the beauty of the door-hanging, and then informed us that she saw the paid deliverers stuff a big stack of these into the storm drain near the end of her driveway.  She was in marketing and thought it was a shame that such nice brochures should be wasted like that, knowing how expensive they probably were to create.

I’m not sure if the LinkedIn strategy referred to in this infographic is all they need, but I am sure that the methods they talk about of connecting with customers and prospective customers are great ideas.  Justin highlights two key statistics about LinkedIn:

  • LinkedIn redirects four times as many users to company home pages as Facebook and Twitter
  • LinkedIn generates the highest visitor-to-lead conversion rate, about 2.74 percent, about three times that of Facebook and Twitter.

I had no idea that LinkedIn could do these things.  When you add them to the different SoMe statistics listed on page 23 of our book for the different sites, I am completely sold on the need for businesses to jump on the LinkedIn/SoMe bandwagon.

I’d love to hear from you about this.  Did you know all this great stuff LinkedIn could do?  Has it been helpful?

3 thoughts on “LinkedIn leads businesses to successful marketing.

  1. Marianne, I think that we as consumers have been trained for so long to only receive information, that the thought of socializing or engaging with brands can be foreign. The more deeper you get into the text you will see that consumers almost crave that interaction. They want to be the voice of some brands even.

    Like

  2. It wasn’t surprising to me that LinkedIn was found more useful business wise than Facebook, because I look at LinkedIn as a strictly business platform for social media and connecting with people. I have a LinkedIn account myself, that I should use more often, however I never use it to connect with old friends and family members like I would on Facebook. My approach when making my account on LinkedIn was to help me find the right people to connect with when looking for a job. Although Facebook may have more users than LinkedIn, I think LinkedIn is more direct as to what they represent; business people looking to network on a business level, as where Facebook is free for all. Very informative blog post!

    Like

  3. LinkedIn was always described to me as “the business version of Facebook”, but I never knew how popular it was nor did I feel it necessary to have one because I’m in no way “businessy”. I was always hesitant to make one because I felt like I was too young and didn’t need it. Now that I know it’s such a helpful form of social media, I can begin creating my professional persona much earlier than I planned! Thanks for the post, Marianne!

    Like

Leave a Reply

